Pay Transparency in Maryland
Maryland's weak pay transparency law applies when:
- the employer has a presence in Maryland;
Note that this criterion is often poorly defined by the locale.
The employer must disclose:
- the pay range
Disclosure must happen:
- on request from applicant
Review the legislation.
Report a violation by submitting a complaint to the Department of Labor.
The penalty for violations is a letter compelling compliance (first violation); up to $300 per applicant (second violation); $600 per applicant (further violations).
This summary may not capture all nuances of the legislation. Review guidance from Maryland to confirm compliance.